Are you ready to sell your PS4? Maybe it’s time to upgrade, or maybe you’re no longer interested in a purchase. Well, there is one step that people tend to miss: deactivating their PS4 account. Deactivating a PlayStation account is important for several reasons, one of which is to allow another console to be set up on your account.
You see, disabling the PS4 means you’ll lose all your purchases and get a refund as per store policies. But it also means that your new console can be configured accordingly since only one account is allowed on PlayStation consoles. But the question is how to deactivate the PlayStation account? If you don’t know, you have come to the right place! This article will tell you everything you need to know to turn off the main PS4.
What do you want to know?
No matter where you own your PS4, you may not know much about it. Here’s something you need to know; When you deactivate your PlayStation account, all purchases you make on your PlayStation will be lost. However, there is an exception. If you have kept your main account, you are more likely to get your games and progress in your account.
However, if you are certain that you will no longer be using your PS4 and wish to deactivate the primary PS4, you should bear in mind that everything on your account will be lost. So, once you are sure, you can proceed with the process.
Deactivate PlayStation Account
The PlayStation account deactivation process is fairly simple. You have the option of changing the PS4 mode from the console. However, it is better to deactivate the PlayStation account. If you don’t know how to do that, here are the steps that will help you:
- On your profile, go to the “Settings” section.
- Once you click on that, go to “Account Management”, and you’ll find two options: “Deactivate” or “Activate as your primary PS4”.
- Click “Disable” if you are sure.
Now, let’s say you no longer have a PS4 console. Can you still turn off the PS4? Of course, you can! You can simply go to Sony’s website and deactivate your account from there. But keep in mind that some will only let you deactivate your console through their websites once every six months.
How to deactivate primary PS4 without a system?
Here’s a troubling situation that most people face when trying to deactivate the primary PS4: they can’t deactivate the account manually or may lose access to the account from the system. Then what do you do?
well, it’s ok. You can only use web account management on the primary PS4 to deactivate the PlayStation account and all devices connected to it. There are many benefits to remotely disabling your PS4, including sending your PS4 in for repair, selling your PS4 without disabling your primary PS4, or having your console stolen or lost.
The steps in learning how to turn off the main PS4 without the system are not as difficult as people claim. Here are the steps you can follow:
- Check out Wayne Account Management and sign up.
- There you will find an option named “Management Device”. Click on it.
- Under “Select System” you will find the options you are looking for. Click “Yes”.
- Deactivation will be complete once the deactivation message appears.
Now that you’ve deactivated your PlayStation account, keep in mind that these steps can only be done once every six months. It’s always best to skip this step if you can deactivate the primary PS4 manually.